Fellows of the British Academy

Fellows of the British Academy from Queens’

The British Academy is the national body for the Humanities and the Social Sciences and was set up in 1902 “to inspire, recognise and support excellence in the humanities and social sciences, throughout the UK and internationally, and to champion their role and value”.

(The dates in bold refer to the year of election as an F.B.A.)

1917. Herbert Edward Ryle 1856–​1925. (Queens’ President 1896, Honorary Fellow). K.C.V.O. Hulsean Professor of Divinity, University of Cambridge; Bishop of Exeter; Bishop of Winchester; Dean of Westminster.

1941. Arthur Bernard Cook 1868–​1952. (Queens’ Fellow 1900, Vice-President). Professor of Greek, Bedford College, London; Laurence Professor of Classical Archaeology, University of Cambridge.

1941. Sidney Smith 1889–​1979. (Queens’ 1908, Honorary Fellow). F.S.A. Keeper of Assyrian and Egyptian Antiquities, British Museum; Professor of Near-Eastern Archaeology, then of Ancient Semitic Languages and Civilizations, London University.

1944. Sir Harold Walter Bailey 1899–​1996. (Queens’ Fellow 1936, Honorary Fellow). Professor of Sanskrit, University of Cambridge. President, Philological Society, the Royal Asiatic Society, the Society for Afghan Studies, the Society of Mithraic Studies; Chairman, Anglo-Iranian Society, Ancient India and Iran Trust.

1960. Henry Chadwick 1920–​2008. (Queens’ Fellow 1946, Honorary Fellow; Master of Peterhouse). K.B.E., M.R.I.A. Regius Professor of Divinity, University of Oxford; Canon and Dean of Christchurch; Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford; Regius Professor of Divinity, University of Cambridge.

1969. David Llewellyn Snellgrove. 1920–​2016. (Queens’ 1946). Professor of Tibetan, School of Oriental and African Studies, London.

1974. Peter Gonville Stein. 1926–​2016. (Queens’ Fellow 1968, Vice-President). Q.C. h.c., J.P. Professor of Jurisprudence, and Dean of Law, Aberdeen University. Regius Professor of Civil Law, University of Cambridge.

1975. Philip Michael Rivers Pouncey 1910–​1990. (Queens’ 1928). C.B.E. Assistant Keeper at the British Museum; expert on Italian Drawings.

1977. Peter Mathias 1928–​2016.(Fellow 1955, Honorary Fellow; Master of Downing College).C.B.E., F.R.Hist.S. Chichele Professor of Economic History, University of Oxford, Curator of the Bodleian Library.

1980. David Eryl Corbet Yale. (Queens’ 1946, Fellow of Christ’s College). Q.C.h.c. Reader in English Legal History, University of Cambridge.

1981. Kenneth William Wedderburn, Lord Wedderburn of Charlton 1927–​2012. (Queens’ 1945; Fellow of Clare College). Q.C. Cassel Professor of Commercial Law, London School of Economics.

1982. Robert Clifford Latham 1912–​1995. (Queens’ 1930, Fellow of Magdalene College). C.B.E. Editor of the Diary of Samuel Pepys; Professor of History, University of Toronto; Pepys Librarian at Magdalene College, Cambridge.

1983. Charles Fraser Beckingham 1914–​1998. (Queens’ 1932). Professor of Islamic Studies, University of Manchester; Professor of Islamic Studies at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London.

1983. Sir Derek William Bowett 1927–​2009 (Queens’ Fellow 1960, President, Honorary Fellow). C.B.E., Q.C. Whewell Professor of International Law, University of Cambridge.

1984. Francis Richard David Goodyear 1936–​1989. (Queens’ Fellow 1960). Hildred Carlisle Professor of Latin, Bedford College, London.

1985. James Diggle.(Queens’ Fellow 1966). Professor of Greek and Latin, University of Cambridge; Public Orator.

1985. Brian Sebastian Pullan.(Queens’ 1959, Fellow). Professor of Modern History and Dean of the Faculty of Arts, University of Manchester.

1989. Michael Anderson. (Queens’ 1961). O.B.E., F.R.S.Ed., F.R.Hist.S. Professor of Economic History, University of Edinburgh, Dean of Social Sciences, Senior Vice-Principal of Edinburgh University. Chairman of the Trustees of the National Library of Scotland.

1992. Jonathan Israel (Queens’ 1964). Professor of Dutch History, University College, London; Professor of Modern European History, Institute for Advanced Studies, Princeton.

1993. John Anthony Bossy 1933–​2015.(Queens’ 1951, Fellow). Professor of History, University of York.

1993. Arthur Graham Reynolds 1914–​2013. (Queens’ 1932). C.V.O., O.B.E. Keeper of the Department of Prints and Drawings, Keeper of the Department of Paintings, Victoria and Albert Museum.

1994. Peter Spufford. 1934–​2017. (Queens’ Fellow 1979). F.S.A. Professor of European History, University of Cambridge; Vice-President of the Society of Genealogists.

1995. Jocelyn Nigel Hillgarth. 1929–​2020. (Queens’ 1948). Senior Fellow and Professor of History, Pontifical Institute of Medieval Studies, Toronto, and University of Toronto.

1999. Kevin John Gray. (Queens’ 1969, Fellow; Fellow of Trinity College). Drapers Professor of Law, Queen Mary College, London; Professor of Law, University of Cambridge.

2000. Andrew Michael Gamble. (Queens’ 1965, Fellow). F.R.S.A. Professor of Politics and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, University of Sheffield; Professor of Politics, University of Cambridge.

2000. Richard James Overy. (Queens’ 1966, Fellow). F.R.Hist.S. Professor of Modern History, King's College, London; Professor in History, University of Exeter.

2007. Christopher Mark Armstrong (Queens’ 1984). Professor of Economics, University College, London; Professor of Economics, University of Oxford.

2008. Stephen Phelps Oakley. (Queens’ 1977; Fellow of Emmanuel College). Kennedy Professor of Latin, University of Cambridge.

2008. John Tiley 1941–​2013. (Queens’ Fellow 1967, Vice-President). Q.C. h.c., Hon. F.C.I.T., C.B.E. Professor of the Law of Taxation, University of Cambridge; Recorder of the Crown Court.

2012. Nigel James Leask. (Queens’ Fellow 1986), F.E.A., F.R.S.Ed. Regius Professor of English Language and Literature, Head of the School of Critical Studies, University of Glasgow.

2015. Andrew Philip McDowell Orchard, F.R.S.C. (Queens’ 1983, Fellow of Emmanuel College). Rawlinson and Bosworth Professor of Anglo-Saxon, University of Oxford and Fellow of Pembroke College, Oxford.

2020. Katherine Jane Hawley, F.R.S. (Ed). (Queens’ 1993). Professor of Philosophy at the University of St Andrews.

List updated 2021 Dec 5.