Queens' College Rugby Club


Mike Gibson (1963 Queens', Ireland & Lions), John Spencer (1967 Queens', England & Lions), Jamie Roberts (2015 Queens', Wales & Lions)


Phil Mulligan (1989) & Bianca Sainty (1994)

Former Hon Patrons

Robert Gall (1989) & Fiona Gillanders (2009)


Mr Rowan Kitt  development.director@queens.cam.ac.uk

The Club is supported by The John Spencer Fund - all donations to this are welcome.
The QCRFC President can claim reimbursement of team expenses through this Fund, by completing the application form and returning it to development.director@queens.cam.ac.uk


President: James Arthur       

Men's Captain:  Joey Reilly jr776@cam.ac.uk           Women's Captain: Charlotte Spruzen

Men's Vice-Captain: Mark Paschalis                         Women's President: 

Social Sec: Jamie MacDonald

Current International players:  James Horwill (Australia); Flip van der Merwe (South Africa), Archie Smeaton (Scotland U20)

Former International players: Jamie Roberts (Wales & Lions), Mike Gibson (Ireland & Lions), John Spencer (England & Lions), David Marques (England & Lions), John Sanders (Nigeria), Mike Biggar (Scotland), Jacko Page (England), Geoff Frankcom (England), Charles “Boomer” Nicholl (Wales), Pat Sykes (England), NC Fletcher (England), Thomas Gibson (England), Barry Holmes (England & Argentina); Ollie Phillips (England 7s); Charlie Amesbury (England 7s), 

Current Blues:  James Horwill, Flip van der Merwe, Archie Smeaton, Charlotte Spruzen; 

Current University players: Fred Jennings (U20s), Callum Macdonald (LXs), Abi Carver (Blues squad)

Men's Cuppers Champions: 1966, 1968, 1970                                Women's Cuppers & League Champions: 2003

Men's Cuppers Runners-up: 1946, 1947, 1948, 1969, 1985, 2018

Queens’ College Rugby Union Football Club encompass both a Men’s and Women’s rugby union team, which compete in the College rugby leagues. The Club structure sees it headed by a President who is aided in its day-to-day running by both the Men’s and Women’s Captains.  A College Fellow will act as Fellow Patron to oversee the long term continuity of the club. Additional Honorary Patrons are invited to serve five year terms. 

We aim to:

  • Be inclusive of all ages, genders and abilities.

  • Actively promote Queens’ Rugby to potential applicants, offer holders and current students. An appointed MCR officer will promote rugby to MCR students. 

  • Create enjoyment on and off the pitch for every member of the Club through a range of social events held throughout the year including the Rugby Dinner. 

  • Encourage players to further their rugby careers by training or playing at University level. 

  • Encourage alumni involvement in the Club through regular results updates and events such as the alumni match.

  • Continuously improve, grow and review as a club.